Insurance Technology Industry News

TMCNet:  Govan elected as Region 6 director for South Carolina School Boards Association

[December 10, 2012]

Govan elected as Region 6 director for South Carolina School Boards Association

Dec 07, 2012 (The Messenger - McClatchy-Tribune Information Services via COMTEX) -- COLUMBIA, S.C. -- Darlington County Board of Education member Charles Govan was elected to the South Carolina School Boards Association (SCSBA) Board of Directors as the Region 6 Director during the association's annual business meeting held on Dec. 1.

Region 6 represents Chesterfield, Darlington, Kershaw, Lee and Marlboro counties.

The annual business meeting, which was held during the association's Legislative Advocacy Conference, included voting delegates from most of the state's 81 school boards. In addition to the election of association officers, delegates adopt resolutions to guide the association during the 2013 legislative session.

Govan has been a member of the Darlington County School Board since 2000. He currently serves as chair and served eight years as secretary of the board. He also serves on the South Carolina School Boards Insurance Trust Board of Directors.

A retired educator, probation counselor and social worker with 42 years of experience, he received a bachelor's degree from Claflin University.

He and his wife, Carolyn, have three daughters and four grandchildren In addition to Govan, the following officers elected to lead the association's board of directors for a one-year term are as follows: --President, John Hughes, Marion County School Board --President-Elect, Beth Branham, Lexington Two School Board --Vice President, Robert Gantt, Lexington and Richland Five School Board --Treasurer, Kathy Coleman, Saluda County School Board --Secretary, Queenie Boyd, Lee County School Board The following school board members were elected to serve a four-year term on the 22-member board of directors as regional directors: --Region 2 Director, Craig Ascue, Charleston County School Board --Region 4 Director, Betty Jo Johnson, Dillon Three School Board --Region 8 Director, Jamie Devine, Richland One School Board --Region 11 Director, Doug Atkins, Anderson One School Board --Region 12 Director, Jantzen Childers, Union County School Board The South Carolina School Boards Association is a non-profit organization serving as a source of information and a statewide voice for boards governing the 81 school districts.

___ (c)2012 The Messenger (Hartsville, S.C.) Visit The Messenger (Hartsville, S.C.) at Distributed by MCT Information Services

[ Back To Insurance Technology's Homepage ]